The Ultimate Oceania Travel Guide

Who will win gold in rugby sevens?

New Zealand aims to maintain their Commonwealth rugby legacy. The oval ball game at the Commonwealth is definitely the fan favourite and the New Zealand sevens rugby team will look to maintain its legacy as the undisputed Commonwealth Games champion.

The Kiwis have never lost in the Commonwealth Games, a record unmatched by any team, not even dual Olympics champion Fiji.

New Zealand women have been equally charismatic and strong when it comes to the Commonwealth Games.

New Zealand 7s Team performs the Haka after the 2010 Commonwealth Games in New Delhi, India. New Zealand aims to maintain their Commonwealth Rugby Legacy. Picture: NZ Sevens Facebook

In 2018, the women’s competition was introduced to the Commonwealth Games and the Black Fern sevens scooped top honours as well.

Speaking to World Rugby, New Zealand men’s vice-captain Dylan Collier said they had some good preparation in Scotland before they travelled to the Games Village.

“This is a new team we have got, a lot of young guys and we want to add to the special legacy this team has at the Commonwealth Games,” Collier said.

The Tonga and Portugal Men’s 7s rugby team. Picture: Tonga Rugby Union Facebook

All top performers in the World Rugby sevens circuit are in Birmingham and the tournament will be nothing short of exciting. The Pacific is being represented by Australia, Tonga, Samoa, New Zealand and Fiji.

The Fiji men’s sevens rugby team will also be looking to end their Commonwealth Games drought this year. Fiji has never won a Commonwealth Games sevens tournament – it is the one trophy that has eluded them so far.

World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said the stage was set for what promises to be a scintillating three days of Commonwealth Games rugby.

Sevens return to New Zealand
The Pacific’s big Commonwealth Games hopes

New Zealand and Samoa are in pool A along with hosts England and Sri Lanka, Tonga is in pool B with South Africa, Malaysia and, Scotland.

Fiji is in pool C with Wales, Canada, and, Zambia, while Australia is in pool D with Kenya, Uganda, and Jamaica. The competition began on July 29 and ends on July 31 at Coventry Stadium in England.

Manu Samoa 7s team say a prayer before their game. Picture: Manu Samoa Sevens

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like

Send this to a friend