Solomons qualify for Comm Games beach volleyball

The Solomon Islands women’s beach volleyball team have qualified for the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, England for the first time.

Along with the Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Ghana, Gambia and South Africa will compete in the beach volleyball competition at the games for the first time.

Birmingham 2022 will mark the second appearance of beach volleyball at the Commonwealth Games, following the sport’s debut at Gold Coast 2018.

Solomon Island women’s beach volleyball team will make their Commonwealth debut. Picture: Oceania Volleyball

“I am excited to see such a broad and talented group of teams representing beach volleyball in Birmingham this summer in their pursuit of Commonwealth gold,” said Ary Graça, International Volleyball Federation President in a statement.

“The Commonwealth Games is a key multi-sport event in the global sporting calendar, and I have no doubt the beach volleyball competition will showcase the very best of our sport.

“The array of national teams representing our sport at the event is testament to the global appeal of beach volleyball and the impact of our efforts to develop the sport worldwide.

“We will also see even more countries represented in beach volleyball at Birmingham 2022 than at the sport’s debut at Gold Coast 2018.”

The Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games is scheduled to be held in Birmingham, England from 28 July to 8 August 2022.

Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Gambia and Rwanda secured direct qualification to the men’s event due to their world rankings.

England will compete as the host Commonwealth Games Association, with South Africa, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Cyprus, Sri Lanka and Tuvalu securing continental berths.

Despite recent struggles, Tonga still aiming for FIFA Women’s World Cup
Solomons pact “not a catastrophe”

Maldives completes the field for the men’s event after being granted a bipartite invitation.

Canada, Australia, Vanuatu, New Zealand and Cyprus secured the five direct qualification spots for the women’s event, with England also set to compete.

Scotland, Trinidad and Tobago, Sri Lanka, Solomon Islands and Ghana earned continental quotas, with Kenya receiving the bipartite spot.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like

Send this to a friend