The Ultimate Oceania Travel Guide
In Brief

Pacific nations join global call for order in Afghanistan

In the wake of political unrest in Afghanistan, the U.S. Department of State issued a joint statement calling for the safe and orderly departure of foreign nationals and Afghans from the country.

Nauru, Fiji, Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Palau, Tonga and Vanuatu have joined with Australia and New Zealand as signatories to the statement on Afghanistan, signed on 16 August 2021.

“Given the deteriorating security situation, we support, are working to secure, and call on all parties to respect and facilitate, the safe and orderly departure of foreign nationals and Afghans who wish to leave the country. Those in positions of power and authority across Afghanistan bear responsibility—and accountability—for the protection of human life and property, and for the immediate restoration of security and civil order.

Afghans and international citizens who wish to depart must be allowed to do so; roads, airports and border crossing must remain open, and calm must be maintained.

The Afghan people deserve to live in safety, security and dignity. We in the international community stand ready to assist them.”

The following reflects the list of signatory countries as of 16 August 2021: Albania, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Canada, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Estonia, The High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Iceland, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malta , Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Moldova, Montenegro, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, North Macedonia, Norway, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Cyprus, Romania, Rwanda, Samoa, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, Spain, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, The Gambia, Togo, Tonga, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States of America, Ukraine, Vanuatu, Yemen and Zambia.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like

Send this to a friend