The Ultimate Oceania Travel Guide

Australia A to feature three Fijians

Fijians Serupepeli Uru, Mark Nawaqanitawase and Filipo Daugunu have been named in the Australia A side for Pacific Nations Cup in Fiji next month.

The trio made the cut in the 30-man Australia A travelling squad after a strong Super Rugby Pacific campaign.

The squad includes eight capped Wallabies as well as a host of exciting, up-and-coming players that impressed during the Super Rugby Pacific competition.

Rebels veteran Reece Hodge is joined by of Feleti Kaitu’u, Tom Robertson, Fraser McReight and Lalakai Foketi.

Backrower Ned Hanigan also joins the squad, having made his return midway through the Super Rugby Pacific season from Japanese club Kurita Water Gush.

Waratahs assistant coach Jason Gilmore will coach the side, reuniting with McReight, Ben Donaldson, Will Harris and Nawaqantiawase, who all featured in the U20 Championships in 2019.

He said the team was a good combination of experienced and young players.

Serupepeli Uru has been named in Australia A. Picture: Power House Rugby Union Melbourne

“The team has a good combination of experienced and young players and I think the team will get a lot out of the upcoming tournament in Fiji,” Gilmore said in a statement.

“Looking at some of the names included in the squad, it is apparent that the depth within Australian Rugby continues to grow and I think our inclusion in the Pacific Nations Cup will be beneficial.”


Four Fijians make All Blacks squad

The team is comprised of nine players each from the Waratahs and Reds, seven from the Western Force, three Brumbies and two Rebels.

Australia A will assemble on Sunday, June 26 in Sydney before flying out to Fiji and facing Samoa at the ANZ Stadium in Suva on Saturday, July 2 in its first PNC match.

Fijian flyer Filipo Daugunu will feature for the Australia A in the Pacific Nations Cup. Picture: Rugby Australia

The side challenges Fiji at Churchill Park in Lautoka on Saturday, July 9 and wraps up their tournament against Tonga seven days later at the same venue.

Australia A Pacific Nations Cup Squad:

Tim Anstee, Jock Campbell, Filipo Daugunu, Ben Donaldson, Tane Edmed, Matt Faessler, Lalakai Foketi, Feao Fotuaika, Matt Gibbon, Langi Gleeson, Ned Hanigan, Will Harris, Reece Hodge, Harry Hoopert, Harry Johnson-Holmes, Feleti Kaitu’u, Ryan Lonergan, Ryan McCauley, Fraser McReight, Andy Muirhead, Mark Nawaqanitawase, Dylan Pietsch, Billy Pollard, Jackson Pugh, Tom Robertson, Ryan Smith, Hamish Stewart, Jake Strachan and Serupepeli Uru.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like

Send this to a friend